The Lake Worth Drainage District is governed by a five-member Board of Supervisors. The Supervisors are elected to three-year terms which are staggered so at least one Supervisor is elected or re-elected at each Annual Landowners’ meeting.

(Alphabetical Order)


James M. Alderman – Sr. Vice President


Sub-District 1
Current Term Ends: January 2025
Original Appointment: February 2003

James M. Alderman was elected to the Board of Supervisors in February 2003. He represents Sub-District 1, which is generally located south of Okeechobee Boulevard and north of the District’s S-10S and L-28 canals, between the Florida Turnpike and State Road 7.

Mr. Alderman is a graduate of the University of Florida with a Bachelor of Science degree. Mr. Alderman owns and operates agricultural businesses in Palm Beach County. He is a member of the Palm Beach Growers Advisory Committee, Farmers Home Administration and Florida Farm Bureau.

Mr. Alderman’s goal for the District is planning for the dramatic changes that will occur as the County transcends from an agricultural community to a more urban society while protecting the integrity of the canal system in order to be prepared for storm events.

Stephen BednerStephen Bedner – President


Sub-District 2
Current Term Ends: January 2023
Original Appointment: October 2015

Stephen Bedner was elected to the Board of Supervisors in October 2015.  He represents Sub-District 2, which is generally located south of the District’s S-10s and L-28 canals and north of the Hillsboro Canal, between the Florida Turnpike and State Road 7.

Mr. Bedner is a South Florida native and 4th generation farmer. His family farm has consisted of growing bell peppers and cucumbers which are primarily distributed up the east coast. In 2010, the business diversified and opened the first farmer-owned and operated greenmarket in Palm Beach County. Mr. Bedner is an active member of the Florida Farm Bureau, Florida Fruit & Vegetable Association, Farm Credit, Bethesda Health and was appointed by Commissioner of Agriculture Adam Putnam to serve on the Fresh from Florida committee.

Mr. Bedner’s focus is on innovative techniques for protecting water resources for the future of farming and the residents of South Florida by enabling the exchange of experience on issues such as water management tools and monitoring.

Carrie Parker Hill – Vice Presidentcarrie hill


Sub-District 4
Current Term Ends: January 2026
Original Appointment: November 2022

Following Harry Raucher’s retirement from the Board in October2022, Carrie Parker Hill was appointed to serve on the Board of Supervisors as an interim board member beginning November 2022. She will serve the remainder of the term for the Sub-District 4 seat which expires in January 2023. The Sub-District 4 region generally includes the area located south of Lantana Road and north of Delray West Road (W. Atlantic Avenue), between the Florida Turnpike and I-95.

Ms. Hill is a candidate for election for the Sub-District 4 seat at the Annual Landowners Meeting on January 4, 2023.

Ms. Hill is a seasoned professional with more than 40 years of experience in public sector management, specializing in coalition building, finance and budget management, and labor relations. During her distinguished career, she served as the City Manager for Boynton Beach, Village Manager for the Village of Golf, and Assistant Deputy Executive Director of Corporate Resources for the South Florida Water Management District. Ms. Hill is a University of Florida alumni where she earned her Bachelor of Science in Business Administration and Master of Arts in Political Science & Public Administration.

Ms. Hill is a resident of the Delray Dunes neighborhood where she currently serves as the HOA President. She is active in the community and has served as a Board member on the Palm Beach County School Board, Arthur R. Marshall Foundation for the Everglades, and Children Services Council of Palm Beach County.

Jeffrey P. PhippsJeffrey P. Phipps, Sr.


Sub-District 3
Current Term Ends: January 2024
Original Appointment: August 2014

Jeffrey P. Phipps, Sr. was elected to the Board of Supervisors in August 2014. He represents Sub-District 3, which is generally located south of Okeechobee Boulevard and north of Lantana Road, between the Florida Turnpike and Interstate 95.

Mr. Phipps has served in the financial services industry since 1970. He is currently the lead Senior Consultant of The Phipps Group. Prior to joining Merrill Lynch, he worked with Janney Montgomery Scott and Morgan Stanley. Mr. Phipps holds an MBA from the University of Nebraska and earned the Accredited Wealth Management Advisor designation from the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania.

Mr. Phipps serves as Director of Palm Beach County Medical Society’s Service Board. He is a board member for the  Historical Society of Palm Beach County, Florida Cancer Specialists Foundation and Mounts Botanical Garden of Palm Beach County. He is a former member of the Palm Beach County Business Development Board Executive Committee, as well as the Palm Beach County Zoning Commission and Finance Committee.

Given his extensive financial management background, Mr. Phipps’ focus on the Board is to ensure transparency and accountability in the management of the District’s fiscal resources.

whitworthJohn I. Whitworth, III


Sub-District 5
Current Term Ends: January 2024
Original Appointment: October 1990

John I. Whitworth, III was elected to the Board of Supervisors in October 1990. He represents Sub-District 5, which is generally located south of Delray West Road (W. Atlantic Ave.) and north of Hillsboro canal, between FL Turnpike and I-95.

Mr. Whitworth attended college at Gordon Military College in Barnesville, Georgia and the University of Florida. He currently operates a family-owned agricultural business in Palm Beach County. He participates with various civic and social organizations.

Mr. Whitworth’s goal for the District is to develop an open dialogue with the residential, commercial and governmental communities within the District. He hopes the District will continue to play an important role in the development of future water resources.

To contact our board members, please send an email to  or call our main office at (561) 498-5363.